Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a U.S. Trained Physical Therapist Assistant by Endorsement.
Licensure by Endorsement is for applicants who have passed the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) and hold an active license in another state.
Applicants must have their NPTE score report transferred from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), https://www.fsbpt.org/.
Applicants must have graduated from a school giving a course of not less than 2 years for physical therapist assistants, which has been approved for the educational preparation of physical therapist assistants by the appropriate accrediting agency recognized by:
- the Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation or;
- the United States Department of Education, which includes, but is not limited to, any regional or national institutional accrediting agencies recognized by the United States Department of Education; or
- the Commission on Accreditation for Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).
An applicant who has failed to pass the National Physical Therapy Examination for Physical Therapist Assistants by or on the fifth attempt, regardless of the jurisdiction through which the examination was taken, is precluded from licensure.
Applicant must contact the school’s registrar and request official transcripts be mailed to our board office.
Applicants must contact the state board(s) in which a license has been held to request License Verification be sent to Florida. If the state has an online verification including disciplinary actions, we will accept the online verification.
Prevention of Medical Errors course: A list of approved courses can be found at www.cebroker.com. When completing the online application, affirmation of course completion can be entered and the course certificate is not required.
Complete the online Florida licensure application.
Applicant must register with the FSBPT for the Florida laws and rules exam at https://www.fsbpt.org/.
If applicants have any affirmative answers in the Criminal, Personal, or Disciplinary sections of the application, submission of the personal statement and supporting documentation can be emailed or faxed to our board office.*
Applications are reviewed within 15 days of receipt. Applicants will receive status updates by email and mail and can also check the application status on our website.
Once approved for testing, applicant will be emailed the Authorization to Test (ATT) letter from the FSBPT. This letter provides scheduling instructions.
$180.00 Application and Licensing Fee to Board of Physical Therapy
$50.00 Florida Laws and Rules Exam fee to FSBPT
Applicable fee to Prometric, testing vendor No fee for Laws and Rules Retake Application; this application can be faxed or emailed
$100 Expired Application Fee; Initial application must be submitted