Click on the appropriate tab below to see the Initial Licensing Requirements, Process, Fees, Statutes and Administrative Rules for a U.S. Trained Physical Therapist by Endorsement.
Licensure by Endorsement is for applicants who have passed the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) and hold an active license in another state.
Applicants must have your NPTE score report transferred from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), https://www.fsbpt.org/.
Applicants must have received a degree as a physical therapist from an institution that has been approved for the training of physical therapist by the Commission on Accreditation for Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).
The requirements for licensure can be found in Section 486.031, F.S., Section 486.081 and Rule 64B17-3.003, F.A.C.
An applicant who has failed to pass the National Physical Therapy Examination for Physical Therapist by or on the fifth attempt, regardless of the jurisdiction through which the examination was taken, is precluded from licensure.
Applicants must contact the school’s registrar and request official transcripts be mailed to our board office. The Florida Laws and Rules Exam eligibility will not be submitted until our office has this documentation.
Applicants must contact the state board(s) in which a license has been held to request License Verification be sent to Florida. If the state has an online verification including disciplinary actions, the board office will accept the online verification.
Complete the online Florida licensure application.
Applicants must register with the FSBPT for the Florida laws and rules exam at https://www.fsbpt.org/.
If applicants have any affirmative answers in the Criminal, Personal, or Disciplinary sections of the application, submission of the personal statement and supporting documentation can be emailed or faxed to our board office.*
Applications are reviewed within 15 days of receipt. Applicants will receive status updates by email and mail and can also check the application status on our website.
Once approved for testing, applicant will be emailed the Authorization to Test (ATT) letter from the FSBPT. This letter provides scheduling instructions.
*Any affirmative answers on the initial application to the criminal, disciplinary or personal history sections will require a personal written statement and supporting documentation. This documentation is reviewed to determine of a personal appearance at a board meeting is required.
$180.00 Application and Licensing Fee to Board of Physical Therapy
$65.00 Florida Laws and Rules Exam fee to FSBPT
Applicable fees to Prometric, testing vendor
No fee for Laws and Rules Retake Application; this application can be faxed or emailed
$100 Expired Application Fee; Initial application must be submitted