
The Florida Board of Physical Therapy, 
Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy,

and Florida Physical Therapy Association
What’s the difference?
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• The Florida Board of Physical Therapy, Federation of State 
Boards of Physical Therapy, and Florida Physical Therapy 
Association. What is the role? 

• The Florida Board of Physical Therapy issues your Florida 
License

• Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy holds your exam 
scores.

• Florida Physical Therapy Association approves all continuing 
education.

Department of Health
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Florida Board of Physical Therapy

The Florida Board of Physical Therapy was established “to ensure that 
every physical therapy practitioner practicing in this state meets 
minimum requirements for safe practice.” The Florida Board of Physical 
Therapy, through efficient and dedicated organization, will license, 
monitor, discipline, educate, and when appropriate, rehabilitate 
practitioners to assure their competence in the service of the people of 
Florida.
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You just graduated, now what? 
• Contact your program director or school registrar to have a letter of 

completion sent to the Florida Board of Physical Therapy office. 
• Your letter of completion must be signed and state that you have “completed all clinical and 

didactic training” and list a date of completion. 

• Apply to the Florida Board at www.flhealthsource.gov and pay the $180.00 
application fee. 

• Register with FSBPT (Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy)to take the 
FLLAW (Florida Laws and Rules) and NPTE (National Physical Therapy Exam).
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Important information:

The letter of completion will only allow you to sit for the exam, 
you will not receive your license until the Florida Board receives 
your official transcripts. 

An applicant will not be made eligible for an exam by Florida 
Board staff until registration and payment of exams have been 
completed.

Department of Health
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FSBPT’s Role
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FSBPT: The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy
• FSBPT is the exam vendor; they house all scores of the NPTE and 

state “jurisprudence” exams. 

• FSBPT and the Florida Board are not the same entity, we work 
together and communicate regarding your exam scores only. 

• A copy of your National exam score report will come from FSBPT, 
not the Board office, this is typically available 1 week after the 
Board office receives your scores.

FSBPT
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IMPORTANT:

If you are issued a deficiency letter- Make sure you are in 
communication with the Florida Board office regarding your 
registration. The Florida Board does not know if you have 
registered, you will need to contact the Florida Board by email to 
let the Florida Board know once you have registered. Not 
communicating with the Florida Board office will cause delays in 
your processing. 

FSBPT
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ATT (Authorized to Test) Letters:
• ATT letters are provided directly from FSBPT once Florida 

Board Staff deems an applicant eligible. 
• Once you receive communication from the Florida Board 

that you are authorized to test, please allow 2-3 business 
days for your ATT letter to be emailed to you

• Your ATT letter will provide you with instructions on how to 
set up your Prometic test site. 

FSBPT
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Continuing 
Education
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Once you receive your Florida license you will need to maintain 
continuing education credits (CEs). 

The Florida Physical Therapy Association is recognized by the 
Florida Board of Physical Therapy to approve courses for 

continuing education credit toward licensure renewal in Florida. 

The Florida Board does not approve courses. 

FPTA
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Important: 
• Any CEs you took prior to your Florida licensure date will not

count for CE credit.

• It is important to know where your date of licensure falls in a 
biennium; this will determine the amount of CEs needed for 
your first renewal. 

• Renewals are every ODD year on November 30 
• I.E. 11/30/2021  

• It is your responsibility as a license holder to maintain your CEs. 

FPTA
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Note: The Florida Board accepts courses from the following:

64B17-9.001 Continuing Education
a) Courses sponsored by a program in physical therapy at a college or university which provides a curriculum for training 
physical therapists or physical therapist assistants, when approved by the physical therapy or physical therapist assistants 
program, which is accredited by, or has status with an accrediting agency approved by the United States Department of 
Education. One credit hour is the equivalent of one contact hour.
(b) Courses sponsored or approved by the American Physical Therapy Association.
(c) Courses sponsored or approved by the Florida Physical Therapy Association, so long as they meet the criteria set forth in
subsection 64B17-9.001(3), F.A.C.
(d) Attendance at Florida Board meetings where disciplinary cases are being heard if the licensee is not on the agenda or
appearing for another purpose. The number of risk management contact hours for such attendance is based on the 
definition of contact hour as set forth in subsection (2). 

FPTA
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• Make sure you apply to FSBPT and the Florida Board with your 
full legal name- the name on your drivers license or ID card. 

• Make sure you answer all questions on the application to the 
best of your ability. 

• Make sure you register with FSBPT under the appropriate state, 
the Florida Board can only see applicants that have registered 
in Florida. 

• Please read the correspondence letters provided by your 
application processor; the letters have all the information you 
need.

Common Delays 



16

Congratulations on your graduation! 

Should you need any assistance with the application process, 
please feel free to contact the Florida Board staff at:

(850) 245-4373 or by email at:

Info@floridasphysicaltherapy.gov

Contact 


