Application by Exam is for:
- Applicants who have never passed the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE), or;
- Applicants who passed the NPTE within the five years immediately prior to the filing of the application and do not hold an active license in another state, or;
- Applicants who passed the NPTE more than five years ago but do not hold an active license in another state.
If you have passed the NPTE, you must have your score report transferred from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), https://www.fsbpt.org/.
Applicants must have received a degree as a physical therapist from an institution that has been approved for the training of physical therapists by the Commission on Accreditation for Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE).
The requirements for licensure can be found in Section 486.031, F.S. and Rule 64B17-3.001, F.A.C.
For exam dates and deadlines, visit https://www.fsbpt.org/. The board office must receive the completed application and all supporting documents by the FSBPT’s registration deadline of the desired exam date.
Applicants who have failed the NPTE three times must complete remediation training. Applicants who have completed these additional requirements may take the examination on two more occasions.
Effective 5/14/2020 the Board authorized receipt of a letter of completion (LOC) for licensure in lieu of transcripts.
The LOC must contain the following information:
a. Be sent to the Board directly from the educational institution,
b. Be presented on official school letterhead,
c. Confirm that the individual completed all clinical an didactic requirements of their specified degree,
d. State the date the individual earned their degree, and
e. Be signed and dated by the program director or the school registrar
Applicants must contact the school’s registrar and request official transcripts or letter of completion be mailed to our board office. Exam eligibility will not be submitted until our office has this documentation. Letter of completion must state that all clinical and didactic training has been completed and the student is pending graduation. There must be a completion date on the letter of completion. Receipt of a letter of completion will allow for testing only. Transcripts are required prior to issuance of the license.
Complete the online Florida licensure application.
Applicants must register with the FSBPT for the NPTE and the Florida laws and rules exam at https://www.fsbpt.org/OurServices/LicenseeServices/ScoreTransferService.aspx.
If applicants have any affirmative answers in the Criminal, Personal, or Disciplinary sections of the application, submission of the personal statement and supporting documentation can be emailed or faxed to our board office.
Applications are reviewed within 15 days of receipt. Applicants will receive status updates by email and mail and can also check the application status on our website.
Once approved for testing, applicants will be emailed the Authorization to Test (ATT) letter from the FSBPT. This letter provides scheduling instructions.
Applicants who do not successfully pass their examination will have to submit a re-examination application and re-register with the FSBPT at https://www.fsbpt.org/. The board office must receive the completed application by the FSBPT’s registration deadline of the desired exam date.
NPTE scores are received 7 days after administration and are processed within four days.
*Any affirmative answers on the initial application to the criminal, disciplinary or personal history sections will require a personal written statement and supporting documentation. This documentation is reviewed to determine of a personal appearance at a board meeting is required.
$180.00 Application and Licensing Fee to Board of Physical Therapy
$485.00 NPTE fee and $65.00 Florida Laws and Rules Exam fee to FSBPT
Applicable fees to Prometric, testing vendor
$100.00 NPTE Retake Application
No fee for Laws and Rules Retake Application; this application can be faxed or emailed